Crustacean shrimps


Crustaceans (Brünnich, 1772) are a very large group of arthropods which includes families such as crabs, lobsters, crayfish, shrimps and krill. They are characterized with their biramous limbs and their neuplius larvae. The majority of species are aquatic, but there also exists terrestrial living species.

There are around 50,000 described species of crustaceans, ranging in size from under a millimetre to several meters.

Cancer pagurus (Brown crab)
Chionoecetes opilio (Snow crab)
Hyas araneus (Great spider crab)
Lithodes maja (Northern stone crab)
Munida tenuimana
Munidopsis curvirostra (Galatheid crab)
Neolithodes grimaldii (Porcupine crab)
Pagurus sp.
Stereomastis sculpta (Flatback lobster)


Crabs, lobsters and crayfish


Sea spiders