Cetomimiformes (Whalefishes)

Cetomimiformes (Whalefishes) is an order of small deep sea fishes. It is also the sister order of the Beryciformes. They are distinct in having very large mouths and highly distensible stomachs. Some species have been found to occur at depths more than 3.500 meters.

There are about 18 species described in this order, but scientists are still debating the actual taxonomy of many species.


Species list:


Barbourisia rufaBarbourisia rufa
(Velvet whalefish)

Scientific name: Barbourisia rufa (Parr, 1945)
Popular names: Velvet whalefish, Red whalefish
Danish name: Fløjls-hvalfisk

Family: Barbourisiidae (Velvet whalefishes)

Distribution: Circumglobal
Capture sites:

Depth: 1200 - 2000 meters (bathydemersal)
Max. size: ~ 39 cm





{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=438}