Chondrichthyes (Cartilaginous fishes)

- Elasmobranchii (Sharks, rays and skates)
- Holocephali (Chimaeras or ghost sharks)

A group of jawed fish with paired fins and nostrils. They have scales and further are their hearts two-chambered. They differ significantly in having a skeleton made of cartilage rather than bone.

Go to species-list (19 species)


Cyclostomata (Jawless fishes)

- Lampreys and hagfishes

The round mouths or jawless fishes are a small group of fish distinguesed by their lack of jaws. Their mouth is constantly open and contains horny teeth.

Go to species list (3 species)



Osteichthyes (Bony fishes)

- Actinopterygii (ray-finned fish)
- Sarcopterygii (lobe-finned fish)

This is the largest class of vertebrates with more than 29,000 living species in it. They have bony skeletons and jaws, and are further able to breathe without moving due to a structure called the operculum.

Go to species list (101 species)